Sigma Honor Society

Omicron Upsilon, the University of Portland School of Nursing & Health Innovations' chapter of Sigma Honor Society, accepts seniors and graduate students who have demonstrated superior academic achievement in nursing. Awarding membership encourages, fosters, and actively supports further professional development, thus promoting nursing scholarship, leadership, creativity, and commitment to nursing. Each year, those nurses who have shown through their practice that they uphold the values and ideals of Sigma are inducted as community nurse leaders.

Our Mission and Vision

Mission: To maintain the spirit of nursing in a community that supports shared scholarship, leadership, and service.

Vision: To be a "sanctuary" to nourish the head, heart, and hands of nurses.

Our Priorities:

  • Engagement in scholarly activities and inquiry
  • Professional Development
  • Networking
  • Rejuvenation
  • Service


Omicron Upsilon officers serve for two year terms and guide the honor society in a number of ways. Learn more about being an Omicron Upsilon officer.

Member Benefits

Sigma Omicron Upsilon members enjoy a wide variety benefits.  Learn more about member benefits.

Omicron Upsilon Chapter Grant Funding

The Omicron Upsilon chapter of Sigma offers funding for scholarships that address nursing education and nursing practice.

Guidelines for Education & Practice Scholarship Grants


Nursing students in the Simulated Health Center

Phoenix Award

The winners of the Omicron Upsilon Sigma 2020 Phoenix Award are Lexi Gregov and Monica Snow! They both have demonstrated outstanding nursing leadership during the COVID-19 pandemic. Watch the video highlighting the winners and other COVID nurse heroes.